The Chicago Athenaeum BACK TO HOMEPAGE >
Green Good Design

Green Good Design®
Sustainability Awards 2025

The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies and The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design have joined forces on two continents to present an innovative and challenging new public program: GREEN GOOD DESIGN SUSTAINABILITY AWARDS.

GOOD DESIGN™ was founded in Chicago in 1950 by Eero Saarinen, Charles and Ray Eames, and Edgar Kaufmann, Jr. to promote and foster a greater public understanding and acceptance for Modern Design.

In 2024, seven decades later, this new edition of 
GOOD DESIGN™ aims to bring a parallel public appreciation and awareness for an equally revolutionary design approach-a new design thinking led by a current generation of visionary architects, designers, urban planners, corporations, governments, individuals, and private and public institutions for a design and a public environment based upon the ideals of energy conservation; the reduction of toxic waste and greenhouse gases; the diminishing dependence on fossil fuels; and a sensitivity for waste, pollution, and the depletion of the world's energy resources. This new design approach centers on the idea of repairing our worldwide environments with sustainability and for total ecological restoration.

Now in turn and in 2024, GREEN GOOD DESIGN's goal is to bestow international recognition to those outstanding individuals, companies, organizations, governments, and institutions - together with their products, services, programs, ideas, and concepts-that have forwarded exceptional thinking and inspired greater progress toward a more healthier and more sustainable universe.

Like 1950, when Modern Design was blazing a new direction in design history, GREEN GOOD DESIGN attempts to impact consumer habits, restructure manufacturing output, influence the design of cities and public spaces, and raise a consciousness about our limited global resources and the disappearance of clean air, clean earth, and clean water. The founding organizers of GOOD DESIGN™ in the 1950s introduced Modern Design to the public forefront with passion, innovation, and revolutionary zeal.

We aspire the same with GREEN GOOD DESIGN

Products or buildings should have been designed or built after November 1st, 2023.
Any person/institution who has made a significant contribution to sustainability locally, nationally or internationally.
Any government/local government who has implemented a sustainability plan.
As with The Good Design™ ethos, everything and anything is considered in The Green Good Design Sustainability Awards™
Items required for entry:

Up to 10 (ten) individual images in .jpg/jpeg (300dpi) of a product. For Buildings up to 10 Individual Images .jpg/.jpeg (300dpi) not in a PDF Brochure format, plus plans, sections and elevations.

• A One (1) page description of the nominated product/person/project/etc. max 400 words.
• Any additional information should be placed on a separate page.
• All these items should be zipped to a file no larger than 20MB.
• Filled out application form (either online or postal)
• Entry fee: €375.00 (euro)

Closing date for entries for Green Good Design Awards:
January 15th, 2025

The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies 

28 Butlers Court
Sir Rogerson's Quay
Dublin 2, Ireland 

TEX/FAX: +353/(0)1-670 8781


© 2007-2024 The European Centre 
Use of this website as stated in our legal statement

GOOD DESIGN™ is a Federally Registered and Protected U.S. 
Trademark of The Chicago Athenaeum

The GOOD DESIGN Logo was designed by Mort Goldsholl in 1950. 
Copyright © 1992 - 2024 The Chicago Athenaeum

GREEN GOOD DESIGN Copyright © 2007 - 2024
The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies 
Green Good Design
The Chicago Athenaeum | 601 South Prospect Street
Galena, Illinois 61036, USA | Tel: 815/777-4444 | Fax: 815/777-2471